Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Concert features five young artists

April 15, 2012
Messenger News

The last concert of the Fort Dodge Area Symphony 2011-12 season will be "Celebration of the Future," 3 p.m. April 22 at Phillips Middle School Auditorium. This is the annual Young Artist concert, and will feature five young artists who were selected in a January audition.

Admission is by season membership or tickets at the door: $10 adult, $6 student. Dennis Root, Mason City, is the guest conductor.

Before the concert at 2:30 p.m., several soloists selected from the Youth Honors Recital in March will perform.

The five Young Artists are: Roberto Gemignani, piano, a 7th grader from Gilbert, Iowa, will be performing Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 23 in A Major K488, 1st movement. Kathryn Tarko, cello, a junior at Drake University, will be performing Shostakovitch's Cello Concerto No. 1, 1st movement. Esme Wong Su Leei, piano, a sophomore at Luther College, will be performing Mendelssohn's Concerto No. 1 in G minor, 1st movement. Abby Rethwisch, soprano, a senior at Simpson College, will be performing Mozart's Marten aller Acten from Die Entfuhrung avs den Serial. Rachel Leeper, Bassoon, a junior at the University of Iowa, will be performing Mozart's Concerto in Bb for Bassoon and Orchestra, 1st movement.

Students from the Youth Honors Recital are: Zoe Assadipour, piano, fifth grade, Fort Dodge; Maggie Lennon & Hallie Ehn, vocal duet, third grade, Fort Dodge; Morgan Border, piano, fourth grade, Fort Dodge; Isabella Luu, piano, fifth grade, Humboldt; Sydnee Waggoner, cello, seventh grade, Fort Dodge; Victoria Pavik, violin, third grade, Fort Dodge; Rachel Rethwisch, piano, eighth grade, Fort Dodge; Louis Shriver, violin, eighth grade, Eagle Grove.

Root has played with the Fort Dodge Symphony for more than 20 years. A graduate of the University of Wisconsin with a major in string education and a Masters degree from the University of Iowa, Root retired from the Mason City Community School in 2011 after 44 years in the system. He is the current conductor of the North Iowa Symphony Orchestra in Mason City.



I am looking for: