Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

FD Am begins today

June 22, 2012

Defending champions Kevin Ault and Bill Manske return to their old stomping grounds here this weekend for the 64th annual Fort Dodge Amateur men's golf tournament.

Ault, a Fort Dodge Senior High graduate and former Lakeside course manager, is the two-time defending open division title holder. He will tee off at 9:10 a.m. Friday morning. Ault captured last summer's crown with a convincing six-shot victory over Carroll native and Colorado State University golfer Kirby Pettitt.

Manske, from Algona, has been assigned a 12:39 p.m. tee time on Friday. He was a four-stroke winner in the senior bracket a year ago.

Over 150 participants are expected to compete in the 54-hole tournament, which begins at 7:30 a.m. Friday morning. Times will cover nine-minute intervals through 9:10 a.m. from holes No. 1 and 10 at the Fort Dodge Country Club, with the afternoon foursomes running from 12:30 and 2:10 p.m.

Assignments from Friday are reversed on Saturday; golfers switch times and sides by five hours.

A 36-hole qualifying stretch will set the stage for Sunday's final round, which takes the 60 best scores - 36 in the open division and 24 on the senior side - from the field.

Fact Box


Tee 1

Morning Session

7:30 a.m. - Tom Schill, Dave Sergeant, Rod Peterson, Dave Hanson.

7:30 a.m. - Cort Freeman, Mike Meyers, Mike Pugh, Clayton Freeman;.

8:15 a.m. - Jared Gillespie, Ethan Meehling, Griffin Mathias, Connor Peck.

8:25 a.m. - Matt Gute, Zach Ebner, Tyler Christians, Tanner Randall.

8:34 a.m. - Tony Malizia, Jim Dalton, Anthony Maher, Mike Carlson.

8:43 a.m. - Sam Elliott,?Alex Wendell, Jesse Peck, Mike Slavin.

8:52 a.m. - Steve Larson,?Colin Pearson, Sean Blomgren, Randy Schnell.

9:01 a.m. - Mike Davies, Walter Davies, Rick Jones, Mike Fraher.

9:10 a.m. - Kevin Ault, Jeremy Larson, Jeff Peterson, Neil Doak.



12:30 p.m. - Steve Berg, Andy Berg, Scott Olson, Tony Barberry.

12:39 p.m. - Blake Delaney, Bill Manske, Russell Johnson, Jay Hickman.

12:48 p.m. - Dave Sogard, TJ?Risetter, Braxton Risetter, Brad Deling.

12:57 p.m. - Mark Davidson, Jim Wilke, Mike Wilke, Jason Douglas.

1:06 p.m. -?Joel Yunek, Phil Joselyn, Bruce Grenier, Brian Fell.

1:15 p.m.?- Jim Curell, Sam Aossey, Todd Hintgen, Jeff Berndt.

1:25 p.m. -?Andrew Huseman, Michael Wetrick, Rob Taylor, Tyler Smith.

1:34 p.m. - Nate Schill, Collin Hackett, Eddie Doyle, Justin Schulte.

1:43 p.m. - Randy Studer, Robert Hattery, Fred Studer.

1:52 p.m. - Jim Kern, Bob Foronato, Kevin Johnson, Bob O'Neill.

2:01 p.m. - Jim Campbell, Mike Duea, Kevin Halbmaier, Mike Mumma.

2:10 p.m. - Mike Wothington, Brad Emmick, Steve Olson, Bill Vanderpool.

Tee 10

Morning Sessison

8:43 a.m. - Isaac Ingersoll, Ron Schrimper, Nick Johnson, Matt Cook.

8:52 a.m. - Kyler Ludwig, Tanner Ludwig, Jake Buelt, Bryan Laraia.

9:01 a.m. - Tom?Sandie, Bruce Gervais, Jamie Blackburn, Mike Heim.

9:10 a.m. - Conner Julifs, Alex VanderHoff, Ryan Gutz, Matt Mickelson.

Afternoon Sessison

12:30 p.m. - Dan McGrevey, Sean McGrevey, Jeff Panek, Austin Morrow.

12:39 p.m. - Cory Braunschweig, Luke Essing, Ryan Kinseth, Dennis Pals.

12:48 p.m. - Dave Pratt, Jeff Rabe, Kirk Macumber, Buck Yoder.

12:57 p.m. - Sean Blomgren, Kramer Samuelson, Greg Samuelson, Kurt Engnell.

1:15 p.m. - Tom Kristensen, Matthew Kristensen, Jim Nurse, Mike Ninneman.

1:25 p.m. - Larry Ross, Ned Palmer, Del Harken, Chad Wood.

1:34 p.m. - Patrick Hall, Rod Peterson, Matt Gatchell, Josh Heuton.

1:43 p.m. - Michael Nedved, Brian Allison, Matt Ohl, Luke Monson.

1:52 p.m. - Tim Taylor, Ron Peterson, Andy Burton, Ron Anderson.

2:01 p.m. - Mike Gaul, Tom Wissler, Steve Lynn, Bob Hartzler.

2:10 p.m. - Ryan Reeder, Lucas Peed, Dean Wendell, Tanner Kesterson.

Ault carded a six-under par total of 207 in 2011 - the third lowest winning score in the past decade. Manske, the 1980 FD Am open division champ, finished with a senior-record two-under par 211.

Cory Braunschweig, a two-time FD Am winner, will be in the field, as well as Oklahoma State University golfer and former city runner-up Tanner Kesterson and ex-city champ Lucas Peed of Fort Dodge. Past FD Am victors Dave Sergeant (Fort Dodge), Tom Schill (Gowrie), Joel Yunek, Tom Sandie and Sam Aossey are entered, as is defending super senior title holder Phil Joselyn of Fort Dodge and 2012 state senior match play king Jim Curell of Boone.

Temperatures are expected to comfortably hover in the 80-degree range all weekend long, with winds under 15 miles per hour each day. There is a 50 percent chance of rain on Saturday.

The Country Club is a par 35-36-71 layout.



I am looking for: