Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Sommerfeld race held at MCS

October 16, 2012
By The Messenger Sports staff ( , Messenger News

Despite being condensed into a one-night race due to threatening weather conditions, the Industrial Material Surplus Iron Man Challenge/8th Annual Bruce Sommerfeld Memorial went on as scheduled here at Mineral City Speedway over the weekend.

Nearly 120 different cars took part in the final event of the 2012 season, according to race director Chuck Crimmins.

"There was a 100 percent chance of rain in the forecast for Saturday, and it ended up being a good thing that we shortened (the event)," Crimmins said. "We didn't have a huge turnout (crowd-wise), but it was pretty cold and also a Football Friday Night in Iowa.

"We still had several hundred people come out to watch a good race."

Finishing as top prize winners in each of their respective events were Clare's Mike McFarland (Hornets), Spencer's Brandon Nielsen (USRA Hobby Stocks), Norwalk's Jared Timmerman (USRA B-Mods), Independence's Tom Schmitt (USRA Stock Cars) and Denison's Shane Demey (USRA A-Mods).

Fact Box



A Main - 1. Mike McFarland, Clare; 2. Joe DeBoer, Fort Dodge; 3. Mick Evans, Fort Dodge; 4. Nate Evans, Fort Dodge; 5. Gary Carlson, Fort Dodge; 6. Jason Iehl, Alta; 7. Tyler Thomas, Vail; 8. Scotty McNeil, Fort Dodge; 9. Danny Sassman Jr., Fort Dodge; 10. Kalan Guthrie, Fort Dodge; 11. Megan Lappegard, Spencer; 12. Keaton Graffunder, Manson.

USRA Hobby Stocks

A Main - 1. Brandon Nielsen, Spencer; 2. Dillon Anderson, Rudd; 3. Bill Richards, Audubon; 4. Austin Wolfgram, Webster City; 5. Myles Michehl, Fort Dodge; 6. Jeremy Wegner, Graettinger; 7. Jeff Lyon, Duncombe; 8. Adam Cline, Decorah; 9. Steve Larson, Decorah; 10. Cody Nielsen, Fort Dodge; 11. Josh Niemand, Fort Dodge; 12. Devin Smith, Lake City; 13. Josh Ludeking, Decorah; 14. Scott Spilde, Cresco; 15. Chanse Hollatz, Clear Lake; 16. Jack Marsh, Fort Dodge; 17. Colby Davis, Lake City; 18. Ruth Fels, West Union; 19. Cory Roe, Webster City; 20. Matt Mundt, Callender; 21. Matt Weiss, Rockwell City; 22. Lyle Oberhelman, Fort Dodge; 23. Craig Brotherton, Wall Lake; 24. Jason Lowe, Sac City.

B Main - 1. Austin Wolfgram, Webster City; 2. Adam Cline, Decorah; 3. Lyle Oberhelman, Fort Dodge; 4. Colby Davis, Lake City; 5. Bryan Snell, Coon Rapids; 6. Dustin Gulbrandson, Sioux Falls, S.D.; 7. Jon Ketchum, Mason City; 8. Devon Pierce, Odebolt; 9. T.J. Mortenson Jr., Rowley; 10. Pete McWherter, Jewell; 11. Taylor Bengford, Odebolt; 12. Brad Babb, Fort Dodge; 13. Marvin Fetters, Fort Dodge; 14. Adam Suhrbier, Fort Dodge.


A Main - 1. Jared Timmerman, Norwalk; 2. Trevor Fecht, Allison; 3. Tim Rupp, Cherokee; 4. Tyler Droste, Waterloo; 5. Jason Mallicoat, Jefferson; 6. Sam Wieben, Dysart.

B Main - 1. Rick Fasse, Urbandale; 2. Troy Krug, Urbandale; 3. Nate Whitehurst, Mason City; 4. Larry Embrey, Madrid; 5. Roger Caquelin, Dows; 6. Cody Wirt, Otho.

USRA Stock Cars

A Main - 1. Tom Schmitt, Independence; 2. Lynn Panos, Calmar; 3. Jason Minnehan, Churdan; 4. Kyle Falck, Decorah; 5. Mitch Hovden, Decorah; 6. Ken Tietz, Belle Plaine, Minn.; 7. Lance Deal, Fort Dodge; 8. Jake Masters, Graettinger.


A-Main - 1. Shane Demey, Denison; 2. Clayton Christensen, Spencer; 3. Brad Williams, Lytton; 4. Craig Reetz, Dunlap; 5. Devon Havlik, Iowa Falls; 6. J.J. Wise, Manly; 7. Jeremy Brogaard, Kanahwa; 8. Bill Crimmins, Fort Dodge; 9. Jeff Feaster, Humboldt; 10. Ryan Watnem, Humboldt; 11. Kyle Brown, Kellogg; 12. Josh Ruby, Lakota; 13. Jeff Conner, Panora; 14. Cole Hall, Sheffield; 15. Mark Gartner, Mapleton, Minn.; 16. Brett Meyer, Lytton; 17. Todd Thomas, Vail; 18. Matt Meinecke, Madrid; 19. Ron Pope, Mason City.



I am looking for: