Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Campbell wins in Webster County District 2

Defeats Aaron Newell for seat

November 7, 2012

Democrat Mark Campbell came out on top of the race for Webster County Supervisor District 2.

Campbell, of rural Otho, received 2,445 votes, or roughly 61.65 percent.

He was challenged by Republican Aaron Newell, of Callender.

"I want to say thank you to everyone who supported me and to all who volunteered their time," said Campbell.

Campbell campaigned on a promise to represent people of the district as spokesman and be their voice in Webster County as well as a pledge to help the rural portions of the county grow and have a better quality of life.

"I am very proud to be representing the people of District 2," said Campbell. "I look forward to working hard as their supervisor."

Newell, who defeated Todd Clark 214 votes to 149 in the June 5 primary election received 1,517 votes or 38.25 percent.

"I want to thank all the voters for getting out there and voting and congratulations to Mr. Campbell on becoming supervisor in District 2," said Newell.

Current District 2 Supervisor Eddie Peterson, of Harcourt, who served on the board from 1996 to 2004 and was re-elected in 2008, did not seek re-election in this year's race.

District 2 encompasses Fulton, Elkhorn, Otho-Pleasant Valley, Clay-Roland, Dayton-Burnside, Sumner-Webster-Yell-Hardin, Gowrie and Lost Grove townships in southern Webster County and the communities of Otho, Coalville, Lehigh, Dayton, Stratford, Moorland, Roelyn, Callender, Gowrie, Burnside, Harcourt and Lanyon.



I am looking for: