Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

City tourney on the tee

July 13, 2013

A new champion will be crowned in the men's open division of this weekend's 33rd annual Messenger city golf tournament, sponsored by Fort Dodge Ford Lincoln Toyota.

The event begins on the men's side with a 7:30 a.m. shotgun start this morning at Lakeside. The women are at the Fort Dodge Country Club with incremental tee times beginning at 8:40 a.m.

Colin Pearson, the two-time defending men's open champion, is unable to participate due to a scheduling conflict. Pearson qualified for the Iowa Masters in Ames after winning the junior portion of the event a year ago.

Four-time city runner-up Tanner Kesterson is also a no-go this summer. Kesterson is currently at a tournament in California.

There is no shortage of contenders, even with Pearson and Kesterson out of the picture. Nearly 150 golfers will be in pursuit of the trophy, including former city kings Ryan Kinseth (2005) and Lucas Peed (2001 and '03). Recent leaderboard staples Austin Morrow, Nick Johnson, Eddie Doyle, Phil Ruth, Cory Cummins, Ryan Reeder, Jon Diehl, Steve Schmidt and Michael Faiferlick are also signed up.

Kelsey Faiferlick takes aim on a city three-peat in the women's open bracket. Faiferlick, a St. Edmond graduate and current Park University team member, has prevailed in the last two tourneys by a combined 31 strokes.

Fact Box


7:30 a.m. Open

Steve Schmidt

Dean Wendell

Tony Lawler

Randy Stults

Ryan Reeder

Jon Diehl

Dan Baker

George Valdez

Sean Hanley

Dave Hansen

Austin Morrow

Joe Kayser

Matt Drees

Rich Ebensteiner

Tom Forbes

Frank McAvoy

Roger Heun

Justin Faiferlick

Michael Faiferlick

John Thalacker

Lyle Witzke

Patrick McKinney

Joe Vonsak Sr.

Joe Vonsak Jr.

Jerry Lunn

Dave Whittington

Kyle Whittington

Chris Hughes

Jason Myers

Jason Kahler

Doug Brand

Jeff Clemens

Paul Gray

Adam Johnson

Matt Tracy

Andy Dunbar

Jason Bradley

Justin Jones

Marcus Anderson

Steve Tracy

Eddie Doyle

Charlie Doyle

Justin Mikos

Phil Ruth

Dale Eldridge

Dan Green

Tim Lundberg

Bryan Messerly

Matt Thrams

Justin Jorgensen

Alex Mercado

Ron Macdiarmid

Matt Johnson

Nick Johnson

7:30 a.m. Senior

Scott Harms

Keith Messerly

Kevin Ressler

Bob Baker

Dave Morrow

Jim Dalton

Doug Johansen

Jim Wilke

Dan McGrevey

Gary Lombard

Dean Stuhrenberg

Dean Bundy

Kurt Engnell

Jim Crouch

Al Peterson

Tim Dooley

Bob Cook

Mark Tracy

John Morse

Rod Kern

Jim Jorgensen

Terry Miller

Casey Johnson

Jim Edwards

12:30 p.m. Open

Chaz Vance

Buck Yoder

Mitch McCarvile

Jeff Daniel

Ryan Kinseth

Michael Fraher

Brandon Kinseth

Ryan Gruenberg

Brady Pearson

Terry Schnittjer

Josh Gollob

Alan Nguyen

Tom Yetmar

David Board

Mike Yetmar

Chip Denklau

Dennis Detmering

Ed Jacobson

Brian Pingel

Craig Miller

John Jensen

Jayson Jensen

Mark Brown

Mark McBride

Matt Dutcher

Pat Leiting

Earl McBride

Brian Lagerstrom

Jeff Brundidge

Eddie Crimmins

Loren Martin Craig

Dennis Pals

Cory Cummins

Joe Tuel

Tom Peart

Jason Vandi

Nate Conrad

Eric Conell

Bob Roest

Craig Nekvinda

Travis Filloon

Dave Conell

Brian Balm

Brandon Balm

Joe Tokar

Tony Trotter

Lucas Peed

Steve Huss

Josh Calvert

Brian Erickson

Tanner Ruge

Rob Teff

Nic Huse

Dana Becker

12:30 p.m. Senior

Charles Robichaud

Rick Jones

Jack Cottrell

Jeff Larson

Jon Schuman

Roger Balke

Bruce Warg

Ron Cummins


8:40 a.m.

Kelsey Faiferlick

Deann Faiferlick

Jaci Noll

Heather Smith

9 a.m.

Dee Cummins

Lori Cook

Jamie Pals

Peg Christensen

9:10 a.m.

Glenda Harms

Lorie Spanjers

Ann George A

lyce Ann Walker

9:50 a.m.

Julie Thorson

Jen Yoder

Brittney Davidson

Sara Potratz

10 a.m.

Julie Roest

LuAnn Nekvinda

Kathy Peterson

Lisa Nickless

Mel Patterson

Terry Miller is also back and defending his title on the senior side. Miller captured city gold in 2010 and '12.

Perennial contenders Jim Dalton and Dean Bundy - former champs themselves - as well as Jon Schuman, Ron Cummins, Kurt Engnell and Scott Harms will be in the hunt to dethrone Miller.

The women's senior race looks to be an open one, as Diane Blomker and Roxanne Kuhlman - who have taken all but one of the crowns since the category's inception in 2005 - aren't signed up as of Friday night. Peg Christensen was the runner-up last year.

The championship nine should tee off around 6:30 p.m. on Sunday evening at the FDCC.

Temperatures are expected to be in the mid- to upper-80s both days with little to no chance of precipitation.

Lakeside is a par-72 layout; the Country Club's par is 71.



I am looking for: